8 Things You Didn’t Know About Extrasolar Planets

30 05 2008

I’m a huge fan of a sci-fi blog called io9. Not only do they post a TON of articles about science fiction, but a lot of other cool things that interest me…such as the title of this post. Head on over there and check out this little list they’ve compiled and published I found just today. While you’re there, check out some of their other stuff. Be warned…some will be NSFW, but they usually tell you before you click.

Actions

Information

4 responses

30 05 2008
Trey French

Gravitational Lensing is also how we detect black holes right? Have we discovered any Primordial Black Holes yet? Or are they still just thoery?

31 05 2008
Terry Johnson

I have no idea. I was going to look up some info and try to give a semi-educated answer, but honestly I have no idea. It’s a good question, though. And if you find out the answer post it back here!

31 05 2008
Astro Girl

Gravitational lensing can be used to detect black holes, but I don’t know if they’ve actually found any that way – I mostly hear about it in terms of a massive galaxy lensing a very distant galaxy, or else gravitational microlensing, where they look at stars in our galaxy or other nearby ones (like the LMC) – those lensing events might indicate brown dwarfs or black holes or other such objects.

To my knowledge, the primordial black holes should have all evaporated by now due to Hawking radiation. I’m pretty sure no one has found any actual observational evidence of them.

2 06 2008
Nick Jones

I call it a Hawking Hole

Leave a Reply

