Rumors of my death…

7 06 2008

So it turns out I was more than a little wrong about Mojo Nixon’s passing. Thanks to commenter, Eric, I went to the official Mojo Nixon website and saw for myself that he’s still kicking. He’s got a show on Sirius that he’s hosted since 2004. Maybe you can catch it.

This will go down as the time I was wrong. :o)

Edit:  This reminds me of the time I heard my first John Cage concert (not Johnny Cage, from Mortal Kombat you idiot.  John Cage, the composer).   He was an experimentalist in orchestral music, to put it mildly.  I really loved the concert.  I even enjoyed 4’33” [of silence for those who don’t know], even if I didn’t understand the purpose at the time.  On that day, back in 1989, I was told he was dead.  Turns out he wasn’t.  I learned this when, in 1992, I heard about his real death.  I remember it was the night of the Perseid meteor shower.  Somehow it really bothered me to think someone was dead, and then find out he wasn’t, and then realize he was dead again all in the same moment.  Don’t know why I mention this now.  Guess I was just thinking of it.

Actions

Information

One response

10 06 2008
Lauren Fletcher

I guess this is your once a year mistake? can’t wait for the next one…

Leave a Reply

