10 Questions With Ann Druyan

19 06 2008

The Science Channel is running a Cosmos marathon this Sunday. All 13 episodes in one blast. I’m sure most of you have seen most if not all of the episodes. But this marathon promises to add the awesome bonus of injecting bits from Ann Druyan throughout the day. Besides being in a position of public spotlight just from her relationship with Carl Sagan, she is a successful science writer and popularist herself.

For the event The Science Channel gave her a brief interview. In it she talks about working on Cosmos, the legacy Carl left with her, science within the political landscape, and her project Solar Sailing. She also had this quote:

“Cosmos is about scientific tradition that began around the campfire. I think it is a tragedy that science is not taught that way. I know brilliant kids who hate science. The way I would want it to be taught would begin in preschool, when these beautiful little minds would hear, “Shhh — it’s time for you to become members of a generation of searchers.” And it would be a story of searching for who we are and what we are.” — Ann Druyan

That’s simply beautiful. You can read the full interview here.

I’m more than a little bothered that I only know of her because of Carl. I love Ann Druyan’s writings and I think she’s brilliant. She has taken every courageous step that he did and pushed skepticism not only upon the general public but even challenged other scientists to embrace verified evidence over personal opinion. She co-wrote many of his articles and books and was talking about evolution at a time when many Americans would view it as some kind of blasphemy with a refreshing candor I admired. [I’ll write more about this someday.] The idea that Carl became a scientific superhero while Ann was viewed as ‘just’ his partner turns my stomach. She is an incredible person in her own right, and I read everything I can find of hers. Still, I am positive I would never have even heard of her but for her connection to Carl, and his connection to the world. I wonder if the role of female scientists has improved in the last 30 years. [And that will be another post someday soon.]

The Cosmos marathon starts at 9am Central time and plays the rest of the day. Try to catch at least one full uninterrupted episode and see how a science show once acted as a candle in the dark to the world.

Actions

Information

3 responses

20 06 2008
Jeremy

“A Candle in the Dark” – funny, you should put it like that. The book “The Demon-Haunted World: Science as a Candle in the Dark” (written by both Carl and Ann) is why I’m in Germany right now. After I read it, I was convinced that I needed to look at how science is viewed in other cultures. That led me to studying the science education system.

Cheers,
Jeremy

23 12 2008
Astro Girl

You might be interested in this – Ann Druyan did a podcast as part of the New Humanist Blog’s .

23 12 2008
Astro Girl

Ok, apparently I don’t understand how to do links….
http://blog.newhumanist.org.uk/2008/12/advent-podcasts-day-19-ann-druyan.html

Leave a Reply

