The Big Picture

9 07 2008

So I wrote a while back about the huge GLIMPSE mosaic image which uses infrared light to peer all the way to the other side of the galaxy. At that time I put in a little blurb about how big the image would be if you printed it out at full resolution. Anyone remember how big that was? Well, THIS is what it would look like…

That’s me looking at a really nice printing at the Adler. Not only does it take up both of those hallways you see (and the stairwell in the first picture), but then it goes down two more hallways just as long. That’s a full 180 feet! It was glorious!

Even though most of the conference sessions held at the Adler kept me upstairs and away from this area, I kept finding myself back down here in this hallway — just wandering through the galaxy.

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 07 2008
Trey French

Oh man that is amazing. I wish I could have been there to see it. You lucky man

9 07 2008
Nick Jones

That is really impressive. I remember when I read that first post, and wondered to myself if I could do anything cool with it with the access to the large format printer that I have. Then I thought about it and realized how big 180 feet truly is. As you put it, “its that big”

Leave a Reply

