Metallica’s ‘Nightmare’ Hits Close To Home

9 12 2008

I normally wouldn’t write about a band that’s large enough to garner public attention all on their own, but their latest video kinda freaked me out.

The video to “All Nightmare Long”  is a merging of The Wall and Thriller, but only if The Wall occurred in Russia and only if Thriller was about really scary zombies being burned by a legion of robots!  None of whom really dance in sync.  The video is an epic 9 minutes in length and vacillates between campy Scooby-Doo style CGI and aged genre film.

This video is NOT for those who can’t tolerate horror flicks, alternate realities, or Metallica (duh). The storyline is pretty intriguing, however difficult to follow from being entirely subtitled and vaguely related to the song itself, with a view of a Russian super weapon borne out of some meteor-delivered spores.  [Note the Cyrillic spelling of ‘spore’ on *everything*.]  The director also took a rather artistic twist with the grainy footage, interspersing it with special effects ranging from mediocre and silly to solid and wicked awesome.

What got me was the last 60 seconds.  Pretty scary stuff.  And a surprise that I did not expect!  Holy Fritos!  …oh, and there’s a zombie cat.  You have been warned.

The whole thing is available on their official website.

Actions

Information

10 responses

9 12 2008
Nick Jones

If such thing existed, that would be AWESOME! Its a a good song too.

10 12 2008
DaveS

I haven’t watched it yet, but I did see Metallica last week here in Seattle. They were surprisingly good live (I’m not the biggest Metallica fan these days).

Also, Terry, as a music lover you will appreciate this brilliantly designed game. It’s one of the more innovative games I’ve seen in years.

10 12 2008
DaveS

Oops… I mangled the link. Try this one..

10 12 2008
147horsepower

Dave,
That is a great game. Why would you distract me like that? Why Dave?!

10 12 2008
147horsepower

By the way everybody this is Nick Jones. I got a word press account and wouldn’t you know it, there’s another person on the intertubes named Nick Jones. I went with this moniker to constantly remind Terry who his superiors are.

11 12 2008
Terry Johnson

Y’know, seriously! You’re gonna cause me to have to re-tell this whole story where a giant kid managed to balance himself just long enough to muster a little over 1h.p. in a science lab! Really, does that sound like a bragging point?

11 12 2008
Terry Johnson

Oh, and Dave, I concur. That game is absolutely awesome! Wonder if they make anything else…

12 12 2008
147horsepower

Well Johnson, you seemed pretty proud of you “undefeated” 1+ hp… at the time. I see no reason to not be proud of mine.

12 12 2008
Terry Johnson

Yeah, yeah. I hear ya! Look I was sick. And it was raining. And, uh, I didn’t have breakfast. Oh, and the smog — whew!

Anyway, that was the year that the pressures that come with being undefeated finally took their toll and I decided to just pass the mantle. Yeah, that’s the ticket!

:o)

22 10 2009
Pol73

Even though members can be academic experts and researchers, Yahoo! ,

Leave a Reply

