XKCD’s Science Forums

1 01 2009

Here’s a thought for the new year…  Why don’t I start reading through the home experiments section of the science forums at XKCD and see how many of them I can do with my students?  The more dangerous ones I’ll have to reserve for my college students!

What do you guys think?  Jeremy, care to pick up that grounding rod?

Seriously though, I haven’t even considered some of these.  It’s stuff like this that keeps science so interesting!

Actions

Information

8 responses

1 01 2009
Jeremy

Hey, it’s not science until you do it twice!

Cheers,
Jeremy

1 01 2009
147horsepower

and it’s all fun and games until somebody gets hurt… then its really fun!

Happy New Year!

4 01 2009
Terry Johnson

So really, did you see any experiments there that you guys might want to try sometime?

7 01 2009
Nick Jones

The first thing I want to try is to duplicate my ice in the microwave thing. I still wonder exactly what did that.

7 01 2009
Terry Johnson

You really should do that. I’d forgotten all about it. You need to try to replicate it and monitor all your variables. Something cool is definitely going on!

7 01 2009
147horsepower

But if I had to choose I’d like to play the the nonnewtonian liquid with cornstarch and water. They say that if you play the right frequency starch monsters grow.

7 01 2009
147horsepower

As for the dangerous ones, a vacuum cannon not only has cool double letters (ooh there’s another one!), but the thought of a ping-pong ball going through a soda can is really exciting.

8 01 2009
Terry Johnson

I thought I had done the ‘cornstarch-and-water’ thing with you guys. Blast. It really is an amazing thing. In fact, I have a box of cornstarch in my desk right now…

(really!)

Leave a Reply

