Zoë Keating is Phenomenal

27 02 2009

I stole that title directly from Wheaton’s site.  No apologies.  You’ll understand after you watch.

Quoth the Wheaton:

See that MacBook next to her? She uses that to sample herself several times to build a rhythm, and then she plays over it, like a one-woman string quartet. Or quintet. Or awesometet. I didn’t realize this the first time I heard her; I just thought her music was haunting and beautiful, but once I knew what she was doing, I was awestruck. In fact, knowing how she does it, I defy you to listen to it again and keep your jaw off the floor.

So you don’t have to watch her for the whole 7 min.  Just watch her for a bit and then let it play in the background.  Or better yet, don’t take your eyes off her once!

Wonder if I can get her permission to sample some of her music for the astronomy podcast this October.

Actions

Information

2 responses

27 02 2009
147horsepower

That is unbelievable. People with that kind or any kind of amazing musical ability astound me.(I’m talking about you Trey French!) I guess its because anything to do with music (singing, dancing to, or making) is impossibly hard for me. Thanks for giving my Friday a soundtrack!

On a completely unrelated matter I’m thinking about getting a Bass and learning to play over the summer so I can jam with my homey. (I’m STILL talking about you Trey French!)

27 02 2009
Jeremy

Further proof that the cello and all who play it are awesome.

Cheers,
Jeremy

Leave a Reply

