1000 words? More like no words.

8 09 2010

So I don’t make a lot of public comments on politics or international relations, but I found this picture recently and haven’t been able to stop thinking about it.  I want you to stare at it until you realize what it is.

I don’t know how old it is or where it came from, so I can’t at this point give proper credit to the owner.  I just hope I’m cool in posting it.  In the meantime I’d like to say a few words about how it makes me feel.

I think the men and women who are over there, fighting an enemy they can’t clearly define, in a land that’s covered in blood, hoping against hope that it helps someone gain a better future, are the most courageous and sacrificing among us.  The rest of us cannot know what a day looks like through their eyes, but we would all do good to strive to stand that tall in the face of fear.  Do they act with honor?  I don’t have the right to judge.  Psshhtt!  I don’t even have the right to wipe the dust from their boots.

I won’t discuss my feelings toward the war in this way.  But I will say that that picture leaves me speechless.  I have never once worried that someone would use an IED against me to make a political statement.  I have never worried that my religion would cause someone else to wish me harm.  When Americans say they are free, they mean that they feel free to live their lives without fear.  I would hope that others in this country would extend those same freedoms upon each other.   It is our highest law that everyone’s freedom of religion, of speech, and of assembly is to be protected.  Is that what we’re doing, or are we making some people here not feel very free?  [okay, I don’t want to get too political, so I’ll quit here.  Be good to each other, especially if the other is different from you, okay?]

The soldier in that picture is the definition of bravery.  And he has something to really fear.  May we all be brave when we have to stand for the freedoms of those around us.  Our country was founded on it.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

